Jan Lab Symposium -- August 12 & 13, 2016

Symposium Schedule | Symposium Talks and Breaks | Chinese Banquet on Sat. Night

Over 85 former Jan Lab members and 40 current lab members gathered in honor of Lily and Yuh Nung's upcoming 70th birthdays.

Symposium Schedule

Chair: Session 1 - Liqun Luo (1992-1996) Stanford University

9:30 AM - 10:18 AM
Ethan Bier  (1986-89) University of California, San Diego - "The implication of active genetics">
Tadashi Uemura  (1987-89) Kyoto University - "We are what we eat: dietary responses governing animal growth"
Chun Han  (2006-13) Cornell University - "Extracellular regulators of Drosophila space-filling neurons"
Jürgen Knobich  (1994-97) Research Institue of Molecular Biotechnology, Vienna - "Building human brains in 3D culture

Chair: Session 2 - Udi Isacoff (1988-1992) UC Berkeley

11:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Tom Schwarz  (1983-89) Harvard Medical School - "Axonal Translation of PINK1 to Remove Mitochondria"
Blanche Schwappach  (1997-2000) University of Gottingen - "Membrane protein targeting and proteostasis"
Paul Slesinger  (1991-97) Mt. Sinai School of Medicine - "GIRK channels: a 25 year retrospective in 10 minutes"
Chen Gu  (2001-05) Ohio State University - "Ion channel regulation in fast spiking and early-onset epilepsies"
Hee Jung Chung  (2002-09) University of Illinois - "Dynamic regulation of ion channels in homeostatic plasticity & epilepsy"

Chair: Session 3 - Matt Klassen (2009-present) UCSF

1:30 PM - 2:45 PM
Michael Caudy  (1986-89) Knowledge Management Consultant- "Genetic and genomic analysis of DNA transcription codes for the Notch- HLH transcription pathway "
Erwin Frise  (1993-97) Lawrence Berkeley National Lab - "Mastery of spatial gene expression and other convoluted datasets"
Jim Berg  (2008-12) Allen Institute for Brain Science - "The Allen cell types database"
Yang Hong  (1999-2005) University of Pittsburgh - "Polarity and hypoxia"
Rolf Bodmer  (1984-90) Burnham Institute for Medical Research - "Transgenerational lipotoxic cardiomyopathy"
Shan Meltzer  (2011-present) UCSF - "Form follows function (introducing exciting science in the current Jan Lab)"

  2:45 PM - 4:00 PM
Posters from the current Jan Lab

Chair: Session 4 - Hee Jung Chung (2002-09) University of Illinois

4:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Weimin Zhong  (1995-99) Yale University - "Do Mammalian stem cells count number and time?"
Ye Zhang  (2004-09) UCLA - "What do human astrocytes do?"
Woo-Ping Ge  (2006-13) UT Southwestern - "Regression of brain vasculature in adult mammals
Hannele Ruohola-Baker  (1989-93) University of Washington - "Decrypting pluripotency by novel computer designed proteins"
Yuh Nung Jan  (1979-present) UCSF - "Max Delbrück's pig and the New Yorker's cartoon"


Hee Jung Chung  (2002-09) Event Organizer
Tom Schwarz et al  (1983-89) Open microphone

Chair: Session 5 - Zhang Ye (2004-09) UCLA

9:30 AM - 10:30 AM
Fen-Biao Gao  (1997-2000) University of Massachusetts - "From dendrites to dementia"
Wes Grueber  (2001-05) Columbia University - "Dendritic tiling as a mechanism for modality-specific mechanosensing"
Jill Wildonger  (2005-12) University of Wisconsin, Illinois - "Take me to the dendrites! A role for kinesin in polarized dendritic transport"
Sebastian Rumpf  (2006-13) University of Muenster, Germany - "Pruning dendrites in San Francisco and Muenster"
Kassandra Ori-McKenney  (2011-15) UC Davis - "Elucidating the signaling pathways of the Down syndrome critical kinase, MNB/DYRK1a, in dendrite morphogenesis"

Chair: Session 6 - Wes Grueber (2001-05), Columbia University

11:15 AM - 12:15 PM
Helen Lai  (2000-06) UT Southwestern - "Elucidating the logic of proprioceptive networks"
Woojae Kim  (2008-14) University of Ottawa, Canada - "A novel behavioral paradigm of interval timing in Drosophila"
Rebecca Yang  (2003-09) Duke University - "Optogenetics-assisted reward rule learning in Drosophila"
Ed Giniger  (1988-1993) NIH - "Why is it that we still don�t know how axons grow?"
Liqun Luo  (1992-96) Stanford University - "Wiring specificity molecules"

Chair: Session 7 - Rebecca Yang (2003-09), Duke University

1:45 PM - 2:45 PM
Ira Clark   (1989-1996) UCLA - "Next generation science education � new approaches to retention & development "
Cheng-Ting Chien (1993-96) Academia Sinica, Taiwan - "Development of neuroscience program in Academia Sinica"
Yee-Ming Chan  (1995-2000) Harvard Medical School - "Understanding the physiology of human puberty"
Dan Doherty  (1989-1995) University of Washington - "Genetics of human hindbrain malformations"
Desiree Thayer  (2008-2014) Amunix - "Application of XTEN for improved immunotherapies"

Chair: Session 8 - Jüergen Knoblich (1994-97) Research Institute of Molecular Biotechnology, Vienna

3:15 PM - 4:03 PM
Udi Isacoff  (1982-1992) UC Berkeley- "Light on the brain"
Dan Minor   (1996-2000-) UCSF - "How to handle stress and strain - Lessons from channels and the Jans"
Robin Shaw  (2003-06) UCLA - "GJA1-20k: New uses of an old protein"
Lily Jan  (1979-present) UCSF - Closing comments

Symposium talks and breaks

People flew in from as far away as China, Japan, Korea, Taiwan, Israel, France, Germany, the UK and Canada.  Along with former students, postdocs there were also several former technicians.

The last break on Sunday afternoon

Yanmeng Guo, WooJae Kim and Bruce Hay in the audience

Shan Meltzer summarized research interests of current lab members

Chinese banquet on Saturday night- Reminiscences and reunions

Yuh-Nung Jan speaking

Lily Jan speaking

Bingwei Lu speaking
Yuanquan Song, Tongfei Wang, Bruce Hay in foreground

Blanche Schwappach speaking
Bruce Hay and Michael Caudy in foreground

Ehud Isacoff speaking

Ira Clark speaking

Wes Grueber speaking

Paul Slesinger speaking

Tom Schwarz speaking

Liqun Luo speaking

Back: Yoshihiro Kubo, Diane Papazian, Tadashi Uemura, Tom Schwarz
Front: Yuh-Nung Jan and Lily Jan

Ethan Bier speaking
Ed Giniger and Liqun Luo in foreground  

Wenyu Luo, Wei Zhang, Ye He, Kubo Wang, Li Cheng, Shaohua Xiao

Standing back row: Joyce Liao, Chou-Long Huang, Eitan Reuveny, Paul Slesinger, Chen Gu, Tongfei Wang, Xi Huang, Huanghe Yang, Dan Minor
Standing front row: Diane Papazian, Hee Jung Chung, Jian Yang, Yu-Fung Lin, Ed Cooper
Seated: Tom Schwarz, Lily Jan, Yoshihiro Kubo
Foreground: Michael Caudy, Nicholas Justice

Back: Cheng-Ting Chien, Diane Papazian, Tom Schwarz, Bruce Hay, Hannele Ruohola-Baker, Liqun Luo, Juergen Knoblich, Eitan Reuveny, Ehud Isacoff, Michelle Rhyu
Front: Yuh-Nung Jan, Lily Jan, Yoshihiro Kubo

Erika Wolff, Liqun Luo, Cheng-Ting Chien, Yuh-Nung Jan, Bruce Hay, Ming Guo, Hannele Ruohola-Baker, Juergen Knoblich, Yan Sun